Re: SETI public: List Security (Ljk Viruss)

From: LARRY KLAES (ljk4_at_msn.com)
Date: Fri Sep 24 2004 - 15:37:46 PDT

  • Next message: David Ocame: "SETI public: Re: SETI bioastro: Computing the Cosmos"

    I am not in Israel, nor have I ever visited that country. I'm also not thrilled that someone is using my e-mail address illegally. Can it be stopped without something drastic happening to the list?

    Larry

      ----- Original Message -----
      From: David Woolley<mailto:david_at_djwhome.demon.co.uk>
      To: public_at_setileague.org<mailto:public_at_setileague.org>
      Sent: Friday, September 24, 2004 6:05 PM
      Subject: Re: SETI public: List Security (Ljk Viruss)

    > I'm not sure the worm is really coming from Larry; many viri spoof

      I hadn't realised it was his address being spoofed. All I saw was
      Ljk, whereas the real posts say LARRY KLAES.

           From: "Ljk" <ljk4_at_msn.com<mailto:ljk4_at_msn.com>>

      It does look like they all originate from one (dial-up or DHCP) ISP:

      192.116.129.216
      192.116.129.131
      192.116.129.150 twice

      so an abuse report is probably in order.

      They seem to be in Israel. The last two resolvable addresses tracing
      towards them are:

      212.199.73.114.forward.012.net.il
      80.179.100.9.ispeednet.net

      Searching further (RIPE database), the abuse contact is
      abuse-gilat_at_012.net.il<mailto:abuse-gilat_at_012.net.il>. It seems to be a satellite ISP, maybe
      appropriate given the number of SETI false positives from satellites:

      address: Gilat Satcom
      address: 21D Yagia Kapaim st. Petach-Tikva, Israel
      phone: +972 3 9255000
      fax-no: +972 3 9217938

      Source: <http://www.ripe.net/perl/whois?form_type=simple&full_query_string=&searchtext=192.116.129.150&do_search=Search>>


  • Next message: David Ocame: "SETI public: Re: SETI bioastro: Computing the Cosmos"

    This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.6 : Fri Sep 24 2004 - 16:17:35 PDT