archive: SETI Call for Papers

SETI Call for Papers

Larry Klaes ( lklaes@bbn.com )
Fri, 14 May 1999 12:39:37 -0400

>X-Sender: rlaunius@mail.hq.nasa.gov
>X-Mailer: Windows Eudora Pro Version 3.0 (32)
>Date: Fri, 14 May 1999 10:46:59 -0400
>To: history@lists.hq.nasa.gov, dpappas@arc.nasa.gov,
> dill_hunley@mail.dfrc.nasa.gov, jriddle@sun.gsfc.nasa.gov,
> kkoehler@pop100.gsfc.nasa.gov, Michael.Q.Hooks@jpl.nasa.gov,
> william.a.larsen1@jsc.nasa.gov, Elaine.Liston-1@ksc.nasa.gov,
> Kevin.P.Coleman@lerc.nasa.gov, Mike.Wright@msfc.nasa.gov,
> Virginia.Butler@ssc.nasa.gov, d.g.douglas@larc.nasa.gov,
> Historian@mail.arc.nasa.gov, glen.e.swanson1@jsc.nasa.gov,
> Jennifer.Seal@ssc.nasa.gov, bonita.s.smith@lerc.nasa.gov,
> code-z@lists.hq.nasa.gov
>From: Roger Launius <rlaunius@hq.nasa.gov>
>Subject: Call for Papers
>Sender: owner-history@lists.hq.nasa.gov
>
>Hi All:
>
>I have been asked to disseminate the following announcement of a call for
>papers for publication. Please respond to the individuals names below if
>you have an interest in participating in this project.
>
>Roger D. Launius
>roger.launius@hq.nasa.gov
>___________________
>Dear Colleague,
>
>In the summer of 1997 (you may remember) we sent out an e-mail looking for
>people interested in presenting papers at a conference entitled 'Stories
>from Space - Reading and Writing the Cosmos' to be held at the University
>of North London. Unfortunately, the conference was dependent on an
>internal funding source which fell through and we had to abandon it.
>However, we were very pleased with the responses that we got to the project
>and have decided that it would be a shame to let the whole thing go. What
>we are now planning is a collection of essays on the same topic, so we are
>looking once again for proposals from anyone interested in the subject.
>
>The aim of the book will be to explore the meanings of space exploration
>from a range of cultural and disciplinary perspectives and to analyse the
>kinds of stories which space exploration tells about itself. We are
>looking primarily for academic papers, but would also be interested in
>creative writing or visual images, since we want the book to reflect the
>complex and multiple ways in which space exploration informs and is
>informed by contemporary culture.
>
>Possible topics for papers might include:
>
>1. The shifting meaning of space exploration from the 1950s to the present.
>2. Comparative analyses of US and Soviet/Russian space projects.
>3. Space as a means for remapping terrestrial concerns.
>4. Anxieties and fantasies about eg., human identity, illness, otherness,
>gender, science, the millenium.
>5. The interactions between space exploration and science fiction.
>6. Reinterpretations of space exploration from marginalised positions.
>7. The interaction of political, economic and scientific concerns in space
>exploration, Space imaging technologies and the visual arts.
>8. Outer space and architectural spaces.
>
>Please send proposals of 500 words to either m.stern@unl.ac.uk or
>d.shaw@unl.ac.uk by 30 July, 1999.
>
>Looking forward to hearing from you,
>
>Megan Stern & Debbie Shaw
>